The Big Wait

The house handover process is almost complete and we’re anxiously waiting for the green light to get the keys to our house. We may have creepily stalked our own house several times in the past few weeks, driving by slowly, just like criminals casing their next break-in goal, unnerving all curtain twitchers in the vicinity before speeding away in our little dented Japanese car.

While we have been waiting, the grass, weeds and shrubs on our property have been flourishing in the ridiculously rainy July weather, and I have been shuffling pottery around in anticipation of having to move it all over to the house. Have I showed you this beauty yet? This is another one of my mom’s recent floor vase finds. The numbers on the bottom are too faint to read, but I believe I can just about see the outlines of Jasba’s oval logo. This vase is even more fierce in real life than on the photo. This Scheurich 423/16 is a good example of why I often cannot resist earth-toned pottery. Can’t you just picture it decoratively chilling in someone’s hip conversation pit a few decades ago? I can:

The Miller house in Columbus, Indiana, designed by Eero Saarinen in 1952. Image: Indianapolis Museum of Art, via the Los Angeles Times.

I always thought I was alone in my (previously secret) love of houses with sunken living rooms, but it seems there are more of us out there. Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in Life in Germany, West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Big Wait

  1. Monica says:

    I can understand you doing those drive-by visits. Exciting times for you. Your new vase is fantastic – the color combo makes it. Love the sunken living room.

  2. littleowlski says:

    That Jasba is amaaaazing! And I know how you feel about the house. We’re viewing houses at the moment, and I just can’t wait to find something and get moved somewhere bigger. I wish it didn’t take such a long time to sort out!

  3. Congrats on the move! Hope you have more room to fill with wonderful pottery! Keep up the good work – great blog!

    • lavalotti says:

      Thanks so much! Thankfully we have a lot more room and display options for my pottery now, and the pieces that I have already lugged over to the house look very at home there (it was built during the heyday of West-German pottery design, so not surprising I guess.) Just had a look at your website–very interesting, it’s wonderful to see that there is a growing movement to preserve mid-century homes and a market for people interested in buying and maintaining them. The Germans haven’t really caught on yet in the same way, but I am hoping that soon more people will appreciate their mid-century homes and preserve their architectural features instead of ruining them as part of their “modernisations”. Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

