Curating a Life

In recent years the blog world has opened a window for people like me who are passionate about putting together their homes, interested in interior design and collectibles, but not blessed with the budgets that are presumably behind the interiors featured in many established interior design magazines. Whenever I read a blog entry about someone who has rescued a vintage Eames chair from a dumpster, beautifully restored a fleamarket find to become the centerpiece of their living room, or thrifted a 40-year-old vase for a couple of bucks and integrated it into a stunning tabletop display, my heart sings.

Sometimes not having the cash required to professionally do up a home in one go (or to even consider buying quality furniture at retail price) can result in  wonderful developments: the necessity to tap into your own creativity, be inspired by the thrifty creativity of others, and in the process acquire objects with a story to tell. When you think outside the (flatpack) box to furnish your home, you may not be getting instant gratification and convenience, but you are embracing a process that will result in a unique and interesting home environment. At least that’s what I tell myself every Saturday as I paw through boxes of other people’s stuff in the rain, kindly patient husband in tow.

Our home is compiled of a mixture of appreciated hand-me downs, inherited pieces, fleamarket, thrift shop and ebay finds and a bit of inevitable IKEA-ness thrown in for good measure. I appreciate it all (and dust most of it) but the objects that add real interest are the ones I encountered off the beaten track, or better yet, the ones that found me.

Let me show you what I’m talking about with a few recent (last half hour, thank you husband) pics.

My little collection of Ruscha 313 and 315 jugs. The leftmost vase was purchased by my mother in the 70s, the beige and brown jug came from a thrift store (3 EUR), the red one at the back was found on ebay (5 EUR).  The three of them usually live atop my set of Danish teak nesting tables (ebay). I’d say this picture is a decent illustration of my approach to kitting out our pad.

This trio of mid century brass birds (60s? 70s?) was an ebay score, but I have since encountered similar sets at various fleamarkets. They cheer me up every time I walk into the living room.

Fleamarket vase (Scheurich), candle holders IKEA, Dyrlund 70s teak dining table handed down from my parents

One of the things I intend to focus on in this blog is a chronicle of the stuff I find and how it integrates (or is made to) into our home. We’ve only got four rooms and only so much shelf space to fill, so no doubt other topics and thoughts will make it onto here as well. Care to join me?

This entry was posted in Our Home, West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

