Flea market finds

An unexpected benefit of living where we do is that there is a small flea market just down the street from our apartment every Saturday. There are very few professional sellers there, just normal people clearing out their basements and garages. Prices are always reasonable, so very few things, barring the earth opening up and swallowing me whole, prevent me from going. There’s also no competition at all for things like huge mint-green-and-chocolate-brown vases, but their loss, right? Right?

West-German pottery is often not marked with a manufacturer name, but as you can see, this one was produced by Jasba. The second set of numbers indicates the height of the piece (35 cm.) Nobody fought me for this vintage wall plate either, but if I like one thing, it’s brown and yellow cranes over our kitchen door:

This one is completely unmarked. Ruscha and Kiechle produced similar designs, as did various other manufacturers. If I had to guess when it was made, I would tentatively say the 1970s. Anyone know? It was mine for 1 EUR, in any case.

This entry was posted in Fleamarket, West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Flea market finds

  1. Brismod says:

    I found you via my stat counter. Your blog is great and your home is fabulous. How lucky you are to have no competition at your flea markets! xx

  2. lavalotti says:

    Hi there, many thanks for stopping by and for your sweet comment! I really enjoy reading your blog and am very impressed with all the things you have done in your house, it looks fantastic. We have good friends who live in Brisbane; it sounds like a great city. xx

  3. Fat Cat says:

    I noticed that Bay sometimes marks their pottery with their name, but it’s the exception. I am going thrifting this Friday, and I am hoping for some WGP finds as well…

  4. lavalotti says:

    I’m sending loads of good thrifting Karma your way!

  5. ahhh, you’re making me jealous, jealous, jealous. so happy to have found your blog through the comment you left on mine. off to explore more!

  6. lavalotti says:

    Hi Jessica, thanks for stopping by! I only just found your blog too (through Apartment Therapy) 🙂

  7. Kim says:

    I love your blog. I am going to show it to my 21 year old who loves all things retro and funky. I too love your apartment. So cute and such good taste. I am here in Ottawa so WGP is a little more difficult to find in an acceptable price range.
    Take care
    Kim

  8. lavalotti says:

    Hi Kim, welcome to the blog and thanks so much for your sweet comment! I really appreciate it. Have you had a look on German ebay for WGP? Some of the sellers do ship internationally, I’m just not sure about how much shipping would be.

    • Kim says:

      My daughter loves your place which is a high compliment as she is an exceptional amateur designer with fantastic taste. In fact, people ask her to help them with their home colours when they buy a new home. Even her boyfriend’s mother asked for her help! I have not bought any WGP from Ebay as the shipping costs are equal to what they cost to buy here anyway. I just wish I could find a Roth piece!! I have two Kosta Boda zoo animals, the horse/zebra, which I inherited and the hippo which I found at a thrift store for $3 Cdn. I have them on open shelves along with some turquoise glass and crystal.

      • lavalotti says:

        Kim, sorry for my late reply. It’s great that your daughter likes what I’ve done so far; sometimes it seems like there’s just an endless list of improvements to make. I wish I could find a Roth piece too, but so far I haven’t spotted a single one except on ebay (which regularly go for high prices as I’m sure you noticed.) I am tentatively developing an interest in glass and crystal too…uh oh 😉

  9. littleowlski says:

    Hi, I wish I had a flea market down the road from my house – but not sure I need any more excuses to buy WGP! Enjoying the blog – it’s a little bit surreal for me as yours is very similar to mine! I keep searching wordpress for others writing about West German Pottery but I’ve only just found yours. I will now be an avid reader, I think! Emma 🙂

  10. lavalotti says:

    Hi Emma, welcome to the blog! I wish there were more of us writing about our WGP escapades; there’s so little out there in terms of blogs! Will have a look at your blog tonight 🙂

    • littleowlski says:

      There really aren’t that many that I can find. Mark Hill has a few bits and bobs on his, then if you look on the Pottery and Glass forum there are a couple there, but some of them are in German! I’m sure as it all starts gaining in popularity then more people will start writing about it. We can then say we were amongst the first!

Leave a Reply

