Current Kitchen/Dining room setup

We don’t have a separate dining room in our place, but as I mentioned previously, we thankfully have a spacious kitchen. It therefore currently houses a mixture of kitchen and dining room furniture. Ideally I would like every functional item in this setup to look reasonably attractive so that having dinner in there feels a bit more special, and a bit less like you’re sitting two meters away from the stove and food prep area, (which you are.)

Our teak dining table was made by Dyrlund in the mid-70s and is the dining table I grew up with. My parents gave it to us when they took over my grandparents’ dining room table. It is fantastically well made and comes with two extention pieces, meaning that it can be used in small, medium, or large variations depending on how many people you need to seat. In this photo, it’s in the medium size variation. Its versatility also makes it great for people who move a lot or enjoy shifting furniture around…it’ll fit in anywhere. I have recently seen the exact same model sell on ebay for between 200 and 300 EUR, so it’s within reach if you’re looking for one.

The cupboard in the back is from IKEA’s Leksvik range, and I’m constantly on the prowl for something nicer and vintage to take its place. It currently houses most of my cookbook collection, spices, and various other kitchen gadgets and equipment that didn’t fit into the built-in kitchen cupboards.

The chairs are IKEA’s Gilbert model, and I would like to eventually switch them out for something nicer. That said, they have proven to be comfortable, sturdy, and they’re stackable. Something that really does need to be addressed is the ceiling light situation:

No, they’re not sexy, yes, they were here when we moved in. I have been bidding (and getting outbid) on various vintage pendant lights on ebay for about 6 months now, and I’m seriously considering buying new instead…must…be…patient.

This entry was posted in Our Home, Vintage bits and bobs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Current Kitchen/Dining room setup

  1. Brismod says:

    Finding good vintage lights are the bane of my life – my eyes are always peeled for them and then I’m always outbid too! I like your dining table. It’s versatility is an excellent feature.

  2. lavalotti says:

    I even get outbid on lamps that are clearly designer knockoffs, sigh. One day…one day I’ll find one.

  3. Fat Cat says:

    Of course I love this table – I have exactly the same one 🙂 No kidding ! But I didn’t know the name of the manufacturer until now. Mine has only a “Danish Quality Control” sticker.

  4. lavalotti says:

    Haha, great minds think alike, eh? Maybe the Dyrlund label fell off at some point on yours. I just had a close look at the pictures of it on your blog and it really does look like the same one!

  5. Pingback: Lamps | On Life and Lava

  6. Pingback: Chair Grail | On Life and Lava

Leave a Reply

