…but he’s got such a good personality

I’m not completely naive (read: stupid) when it comes to accumulating stuff that is too much of a hassle to repair, and yet my husband found himself hauling this chair home with me a few months ago:

Let me explain. This was not a flea market, thrift store, or curbside find, rather it was a lonely little old chair left behind in my office by the previous occupant. When my co-workers and I moved into new office buildings, all our old furniture was scheduled to be switched out, and my tattered little friend here was destined for the dumpster.

Could you have just walked away and left him there, waiting to be crushed amidst piles of unloved garbage? Why yes, you probably could have, and you probably would have been right, but I had grown fond of the little chair during its time in my office and decided it deserved a second chance. It looks like a 50s design to me and the canework on both sides is in good shape, which is just as well because reupholstering this little guy is going to be costly enough as it is. I will detach the armrests soon and sand them down, then perhaps simply use some antique wax to restore a bit of shine. I am not yet sure which type and colour of fabric I should have him reupholstered in, so any suggestions you might have are most welcome.

In the meantime, have a lovely weekend. We’re off to a wedding so normal Lava Business will resume on Monday.

This entry was posted in Projects, Vintage bits and bobs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to …but he’s got such a good personality

  1. Brismod says:

    It’s got a great shape. I’m sure with some TLC it will look fantastic.

  2. lavalotti says:

    Bless you for saying that, you’re making me feel better about dragging it home. I have been reading various things online about DIY reupholstering projects, but I’m not sure if I’m up to it.

  3. Pingback: Danish Modern Desk | On Life and Lava

Leave a Reply

