Putting a Collection to Use

One of the nice things about collecting West-German pottery is that very few of the things I end up adding to my collection are too precious to use; in fact many of the vases I pick up have obvious marks of use inside from many years of service as vessels for floral arrangements. Despite being mass-produced, I have yet to bring a “faulty” piece of pottery into our home from my flea market adventures that doesn’t actually hold water, and I find that no matter how simple the flowers I choose are, they are given so much extra impact through the funkiness of the vases themselves.
Some collectors of West-German ceramics view brown vases as bland and less desirable, but I think this little Ruscha vase with its crusty brown and beige glaze provides a pleasant contrast to the freshness of the flowers.
This classic Scheurich cylinder-shaped vase is a handy size for taller stems. I enjoy displaying flowers in shades of pink for a bit of colour clash with the red of the glaze, and my little group of IKEA Blomster candle holders keep the rainbow from getting out of hand.
This small 60s Scheurich number makes even the most boring flowers look like something a bit special. I sometimes wonder about who my ceramics finds may have belonged to before they ended up on the flea market, and I would like to think that whoever it was would be happy to know they are once again serving their purpose in a new household.

This entry was posted in West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Putting a Collection to Use

  1. littleowlski says:

    They’ll have belonged to some little old granny who probably got given it on her wedding day. Then passed onto a daughter in the 80s who REALLY didn’t want it! I like some of the more brown and beige ones; grouped together they can look really good.

  2. lavalotti says:

    I think you’re absolutely right, both about the grannies and the grouping of beige and brown pieces 🙂

Leave a Reply

