More Monstrous Jasba

A Saturday doesn’t get any better than this: breakfast in bed and enough sunshine to hit the flea market. The Jasba floor vase gods seem to be on my side at the moment, cause look what I dragged home:

45 cm of ceramic goodness. My husband spotted it looking dusty and forlorn and was oddly adamant about acquiring it. Could my particular brand of crazy be catching?

This one really is a heavy monster, I had to scrub it clean in the shower because it wouldn’t fit in the sink (and boy was it dirty, but not a chip or a crack on it.) Even the cats were scared.

Jasba was founded in 1926 in Baumbach and still exists today, although they stopped producing decorative vases in the mid-70s.

The glaze is difficult to photograph well but is actually a dark navy blue in combination with a mustardy yellow, the inside of the vase has an almost marble-patterned glaze, and the little swirls that remind me of Celtic designs are textured, bulbous protrusions. I think this piece is a nice example of how tactile many of the ceramics creations of the period between the 60s and 70s were, not to mention how substantial. I have a few more flea market goodies stored up for you which I will photograph and blog about tomorrow, including some Berlin flea market finds, so stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Fleamarket, West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Monstrous Jasba

  1. Brismod says:

    I love a well-trained husband! Great find.

  2. Fat Cat says:

    Ha ha, love that photo with the cats. Mine do the same thing. Thourough inspection of everything I drag home !
    That vase is a bit of a monster – scary beautiful… It looks great in your hallway though. That little corner is perfect for floor vases.

  3. lavalotti says:

    I have given up trying to keep our silly cats out of the pictures I take, there’s simply no point. As soon as the camera comes out they’re in there like a shot. That vase is a bit terrifying, isn’t it, it certainly walks a very fine line between hideous and cool, ha!

  4. Patient Husband in tow says:

    Thank you Brismod. I do consider myself well-trained in all sorts of respects, but it’s nice to have those qualities recognised by others from time to time.

    I would just like to clarify one thing. When my good wife writes: “My husband spotted it looking dusty and forlorn and was oddly adamant about acquiring it”, I would just like it to be known that it was the floor vase looking dusty and forlorn, not me. I almost never look dusty and forlorn.

Leave a Reply

