Lamps

My cold’s still raging, I have a lot of work on at the moment, and today’s flea market was depressing. People selling half-used bottles of shampoo kind of depressing. Anyway, let’s talk about  lamps.

You may recall me ranting about the ugly ceiling lamps in our kitchen. Well, despite all my prayers, they’re still there. And I have watched about the 354th vintage lamp sell for a price I’m not willing to pay for something that I can’t look at and test in person before buying…and the bulbs on our old lights have blown. While we’re up on the ladder we might as well switch out the entire light fixture. That’s right, it’s all heading towards the big blue and yellow.

These are the IKEA offerings I’m considering at the moment. First up is Fado (click on the images to be taken to the relevant IKEA webpage):

Another contender is Brasa:

It has the advantage of going well with our kitchen curtains. A third option would be Manljus:

Dear readers, your input and good taste are required. Which of these three would look reasonably good in our space? Here’s a reminder of what it looks like now, well, when the weather’s nicer and it’s still light outside anyway:

And if you feel that I should stop rushing it all in order to hold out for a nicer vintage option, feel free to let me know. Happy weekend!

This entry was posted in Our Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lamps

  1. littleowlski says:

    We actually have the second one, in the larger silver version. So, obviously I’m biased towards that one! However, having said that I think the third one would look best. Emma x

  2. lavalotti says:

    Thanks Emma! I didn’t realise the second came in silver as well, will have to check that out. Does it give nice light? x

  3. Brismod says:

    I would wait. Or splurge on a real Panton FlowerPot light, if you had the spare cash. xx

  4. littleowlski says:

    My boyfriend’s had a look and informed me that our light is nothing like that one! Shows what I know… I’m inclined to agree with the other comments, maybe wait for a design classic. That makes me want to go and look up lights now!

  5. lavalotti says:

    I think in my heart of hearts I know that while an IKEA lamp would be absolutely fine…I would get a lot of enjoyment out of something a bit more special. Once you start looking up lights things quickly spiral out of control, but the good thing is that we can’t afford many of the ones I really like (but then who CAN shell out 4,000 EUR on a lamp in good faith?) The Panton FlowerPot that Brismod suggested is awesome and not outlandishly priced, as is Kartell’s Fly which I mentioned above.

  6. Kim says:

    I like the red one best in your space and then the third one. The first one reminds me of out of date retro from when I was a kid.

  7. Corry says:

    Hi Charlotte
    Sorry, I looked at the images in a hurry and then forgot to come back to record my opinion (for what it’s worth).
    I think my preference would be the red one because it compliments the curtains and I like the shape, but I think either of the others would look good. Lyn preferred the third one.
    Cheers
    Corry

  8. Pingback: Lamp Quest Take Two | On Life and Lava

Leave a Reply

