Chair Grail

Image source: Livingetc via The City Sage

I fell in love with the Panton chair as a teenager on a school trip to Paris when I spotted it looking crazy cool in a little art gallery. It took me until I was in my early 20s to identify who designed it and what it was called, and a decade yet again until I could ever consider saving up for and owning it (present.)

The Dane Verner Panton designed this chair in the 1960s; since then it has undergone several production changes and been released in various standard and limited edition colours. In 1999, Panton teamed up with Swiss (originally German) company Vitra and released the current licensed version.Vitra still maintains a base (as well as their famous design museum) in Weil am Rhein, and the chairs are still produced in Germany.

The Panton chair has a special place in my heart (the bit reserved for chair love) because it manages to be both seriously sculptural but playful at the same time. It was also the first single form moulded plastic chair and therefore has many reasons to be smug despite its advancing age.

I know it’s a bit alarming to be fantasising about Christmas before November has even kicked in, but the teak dining table and I are looking forward to a chairtastic holiday season.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chair Grail

  1. littleowlski says:

    You have to start thinking about possible Christmas present ideas well in advance; especially when you want vintage or retro objects that will take a bit of tracking down. Can you drop a few hints about this chair to relatives?!

    • lavalotti says:

      I have a horrible feeling that I won’t find a vintage set in the colour I want around here…I think I’ll be going the licensed repro route and ordering them from Vitra. Still saving up…

Leave a Reply

