Deck the Hall(s)

I get such a kick out of seeing everybody’s holiday decorations go up as Christmas approaches; they do so much to enliven an otherwise dreary winter citiscape. Strangely enough, my own approach to decorating is somewhat restrained (cough, lazy.) I don’t have the patience for extensive holiday crafting projects and despite the overwhelming amount of decorations available, a lot of it simply doesn’t look all that special to me. I’d rather collect slowly and choose things that will hopefully appeal to us even years from now, anything else just seems overly trendy and wasteful. I think the bell wreath I scored at TK Maxx (TJ Maxx in the States) fits the bill with its subtle winter colour scheme and lack of glitter. Oh, and as a special bonus the front door jingles every time it’s opened. Be warned, holiday entruders!

Okay, okay, I’m kind of cheating with this picture because I use these candleholders quite often even outside of the holiday season. They do go well with our little Villeroy & Boch Christmas tree though.

By the way, if you’re in the market for Villeroy & Boch holiday decorations you might be better off sourcing vintage ones. I was disappointed to see that many of their recent offerings have been manufactured in China rather than Europe. Sigh.

We’re trying to do our part to send a vibe of festive cheer to people stuck in their cars during rush hour at the traffic lights by our building. Hey, every little bit and all that, right?

The best thing is that this window decoration doubles as a cat tanning bed.

 

This entry was posted in Our Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deck the Hall(s)

  1. Brismod says:

    I love Villeroy and Boch decorations, but the ones we have in Australia are all made in China. I’ve never seen the vintage ones here. I also love all your tasteful Christmas touches in your apartment. x

    • lavalotti says:

      V&B used to manufacture most of their wares in Europe but have had a lot of trouble not going under as a business lately. Result: lots of outsourcing of production. So sad!

Leave a Reply

