Chair Reveal

As promised, here are my pictures of the mystery chairs that arrived all swathed in bubble wrap and cardboard last week. Are you ready for a lot of pictures? Hope so…

The long-coveted Panton chairs in black (or “basic dark” as Vitra calls the colour) are our Christmas gift to each other this year. We test sat them this summer during a visit to Berlin’s branch of Stilwerk before deciding to take the plunge. Verdict: They are gloriously comfortable and have a high enough back to work with any number of dining table styles and heights.

I get a real kick out of how substantial the chairs look head on, but how light and floating they appear when viewed from the side.

I wish I could tell you that this set was the vintage bargain find of the century for me, but to be honest I was nervous about getting ripped off over a potential set of knock-offs on ebay. Thus we splurged on a new set of licensed Vitra chairs. They have the Vitra logo and a serial number embossed under the front of the seat and Verner Panton’s signature on the bottom of the base, a nice touch:

Panton chairs come in two finishes, high gloss and matte. Ours are the matte version; the finish almost looks velvety in real life.

Behind-the scenes-info: just off to the side were two rambunctious cats scrambling to get into every picture as I crouched on the kitchen floor trying to get a decent shot. I’m glad I don’t do this for a living.

I know it’s ridiculous to get this excited over furniture, but in the few days we’ve had them these chairs have already brought me so much joy…I’m hoping that they will be a part of our household for many years to come. Happy 4th Sunday in Advent!

This entry was posted in Our Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chair Reveal

  1. Brismod says:

    Oh. They are seriously sexy. Love it. You did so well to get them. Think of them as an investment – you will have them for a very long time. xx

  2. Fat Cat says:

    I guessed right 😉 They look fabulous ! Congrats ! And I totally get your excitement.

  3. Allan says:

    Fabulous! Congratulations! Now, save some money and replace them later with the high gloss high end version ofVitra’s Panton Chair (approx 1400.-/pc). I promis you will get it to a highr lever of enjoyment! It’s the “sexiest chair” of all times!!

Leave a Reply

