See Right Through You

Ha! Okay, I’m sorry. There really was no other title alternative for the above vase, a fleamarket find of my mom’s and the first such piece in my collection. German sellers describe these simply as “Lochvasen”, i.e. “hole vases”…why complicate unnecessarily?

Aside from its quirky sculptural quality, this find has a rough, partly crusty lava-ish glaze. There are no markings at all on the bottom save for four round marks where I presume felt protectors used to be. Have any of you lovely readers added vases like this one to your collections? I think they would look quite impressive in a group of different heights.

This vase lends itself to Ikebana-style arrangements with branches…I’ll try my hand at it and update if the results are anything other than cringeworthy. I have a few more goodies to show you in the next few days, so stay tuned.

This entry was posted in West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to See Right Through You

  1. Mdvanii says:

    This vase can either by Van Woerden from Holland or Stein Keramik West Germany….the ones with holes from Italy are Bertoncello

  2. ninon says:

    mmmh, I think it is a Vest Keramiek chimney vase, dutch. I’ve found one a couple of weeks ago and recognized it is pratically identical to one posted on the flickr group for west german pottery collectors, stated as Vest 🙂

    • lavalotti says:

      Ooh, thanks very much for the identification! This is the only such vase I currently have, but I really like the style because it is so sculptural. I keep looking for more but it seems a lot of the original owners are still hanging on to them.

Leave a Reply

