50s Plant Stand

The cat owners among you may not be surprised to learn that Poppy chews on plants: floral bouquets, mini trees, she’s even considered snacking on a bit of cactus. Yes, really. My attempt at solving the problem is to elevate her favourite target, our awkwardly sized ficus tree.

This crazy little thing comes from my new thrift shop haunt and appears to be from the 50s or early 60s when such amorphic, kidney-shaped tables were all the rage. The fleur-de-lis type mosaic design threw me a little bit because it doesn’t seem typical for the period, but I couldn’t say for sure.

Vintage plant stands are an easy (and often very affordable) way of injecting a little playfulness into your home, and the selection of colours and styles is vast.

via retrotogo.com

The shape and height of this one are similar to mine, but the legs appear to be made of wood and that black and white pattern is much slicker.

via retrotogo.com

Love this one. Try finding something this bold at IKEA. Beige conformity begone!

via retrotogo.com

I’m happy with my plant stand arrangement so far. The brass works well with the mid-century bird wall hanging above the door and the little legs of the table are coping well with the weight of the ficus.

That’s right kitty, you just keep on walking…

Happy Monday!

 

This entry was posted in Vintage bits and bobs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 50s Plant Stand

  1. littleowlski says:

    I love these 50s plant stands. I keep watching them on Ebay but they sell for so much! Fingers crossed we’ll find an amazing one when we next do a German trip. Really like the one you’ve found! Emma

  2. lavalotti says:

    Have you tried German ebay? Try search terms like “Nierentisch”, “50er Blumenbank” or “50er Pflanzentisch”. The taller, colourful ones can go up to 30 EUR or so, but I’m sure you’ll find a small one like mine for very little cash. I paid 5 EUR for mine.

  3. Monica says:

    My cat, Emma, prefers roses (petals, not leaves) and grass. The only potted plants I have are orchids and she doesn’t seem to care for them.
    The plant stands are really cool.

  4. ninon says:

    hi, just discovered your blog and I am enjoyning every single post 🙂
    I recently posted a picture of a 50s sewing box with legs used as planter, and I am definitely going to look for more of them !

    • lavalotti says:

      Hi there, thanks so much and welcome to the blog! I’ll have to check out your post on the sewing box as planter; I have an old and slightly beat up 50s sewing box in storage in the basement 😉

Leave a Reply

