Scheurich Vase Find & Current Book Wish List

How’s that for a title that combines two totally unrelated things? First things first, I picked up this cute Scheurich vase (Europe line) on Monday at le thrift for 1,50 EUR. Colour-wise it is quite restrained as far as West-German pottery goes and almost looks like it could be from Habitat’s current range of home accessories. It even elevates my humble little bunch of supermarket flowers to something more visually interesting.

Books! Like my elegant transition? Every few months I keep tabs on recent publications and update my wishlist accordingly. I must admit that I almost never purchase books as soon as they become available, especially where hardcover interior decorating books are concerned, because prices come down so substantially after only a few months of availability. Here’s a small selection of publications that I’m interested in currently, please feel free to add yours in the comments:

Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design by Christiane Lemieux.

image: amazon.com

I believe that the single most important change that has happened recently in the world of interior design is the growing acceptance of the freedom to do whatever the heck you want. Sure, some people do this with a more inherent sense of style and panache than others and there’s a fine line between “ecclectic” and “hot mess”, but so many talented and successful bloggers continue to prove that rigid, stuffy ideas about decorating one’s home can be broken to great effect. The amazon blurb for Undecorate promises inspiration for putting together a home with personality and challenges readers to “push aside  stuffy, professionaly-designed decor”. Sounds good!

In the same vein, this awesomely-titled publication by Mary Randolph Carter promises some serious eye candy:  A Perfectly Kept House is the Sign of a Misspent Life:How to live creatively with collections, clutter, work, kids, pets, art, etc. …and stop worrying about everything being perfectly in its place. You had me at the title, Ms. Carter!

image: amazon.com

It’s refreshing to see publications on homes that are meant to be enjoyed and to reflect life’s journeys. The fact that Ms. Carter is the longtime creative director for Ralph Lauren also helps.

image: amazon.com

I can’t help it, I love me some Bill Bryson. At Home: A Short History of Private Life promises an entertaining but informative history of domesticity in trademark witty Bryson style. I’m there.

Finally, I am going to pounce on Magdalena Droste’s history of the Bauhaus (published in cooperation with the Bauhaus Archiv) especially because the hardcover version is now available for a little over ten bucks:

image: amazon.com

I’ll review as I work my way through them. What’s on your weekend reading list?

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Scheurich Vase Find & Current Book Wish List

  1. Brismod says:

    Love your new vase and I liked your planter stand in your last post.
    The books you’ve listed look great. I’ve seen the Undecorate title floating around the internet but did not bother to click on any of the posts about it until now – judging it by its cover. It actually sounds really good. And that Bauhaus book is a bargain which you should snap up!

    • lavalotti says:

      Thanks! I’m very curious about the Undecorate book but am definitely going to wait for the price to go down on that one before I buy. I hate shelling out full price for interiors books and then discovering that they are disappointing or not what I’d hoped for.

  2. my husband got the Bauhaus book couple of weeks ago, I love the purple vases, we got more then 200 german lava vases , to many I guess

    have a good weekend

  3. The vase looks really cool, congrats!

    About the books I’ve the one about the Bauhaus, it is interesting but nothing you can’t find somewhere else.
    I would rather recommend you: ‘Bauhaus a conceptual model’ – Hatjecanz publishing. It’s an interesting study about many aspects of the Bauhaus written by different authors…like a huge magazine but only about the Bauhaus 🙂
    Really interesting!

    Ciao!

  4. Fat Cat says:

    Love the Scheurich vase ! And thanks for the book tips – I just saved the first two.
    Here are some more currently on my (Amazon) wish list :
    Modern Vintage Style – the new book by “Flea Market Style” Emily Chalmers
    Creative Walls: How to Display and Enjoy Your Treasured Collections – by Geraldine James; I’m quite curious about this one, as one of the things I struggle the most with, is displaying my art…
    Real Simple: The Organized Home – from Real Simple magazine team; I’m still hoping to find some miraculous solutions to get my ‘hot mess’ back to ‘ecclectic’ 🙂
    And also maybe : Lotta Jansdotter’s Handmade Living: A Fresh Take on Scandinavian Style – if I ever run out of stuff to buy 😉

Leave a Reply

