Easter Monday Fleamarket Finds

I think it’s almost official now: at some point every item of brown West-German pottery ends up at our house. Today’s fleamarket haul is more plentiful than Saturday’s, but it ended up being a bit of a mixed bag. First there’s the good:

Scheurich “Vienna” (Wien) on the left (my first!) and a partly crusty Scheurich 484-21 with a bit of copper in the glaze on the right.

Carstens 0892/15

A solid, well-made little piece that needs friends around it to really let its hair down.

No, I don’t know what the heck that is edit: it’s a Schlossberg cleverly disguised as a Medieval torture instrument! Thanks, Emma!
And now to the beautiful but the damned…

After cleaning all the dust and grime off this lovely Scheurich floor vase, I discovered it has a short hairline crack near the top. I really hate it when that happens as I already spend an inordinate amount of time looking like a pedantic moron when I check pottery for damage at the fleamarket. I think I may go for all-out-crazy now and bring a little magnifying glass with me in the future.

I spotted those chalky lines before buying the above piece and naively thought I would be able to clean them off (I have had a lot of luck with grime removal on everything I have bought thus far.) I was wrong.

Enjoy the rest of your Easter holiday!

This entry was posted in Fleamarket, West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Easter Monday Fleamarket Finds

  1. littleowlski says:

    Your medieval torture instrument is a Schlossberg. I did think it could be Carstens at first because of the turquoise glaze inside, but I’ve checked and it’s definitely Schlossberg! Emma 🙂

  2. sevenstarsimages says:

    the big round yellowish Scheurich Vase on the first pic was the first piece of Fat Lava I bought ever, 3-4 weeks ago here in Berlin:) I love the last one, with the chalky lines a lot, would have taken it too, its really inspiring, do you mind if I illustrate it? 😉

  3. sevenstarsimages says:

    awsome, its diffrent that one 🙂 do you mind if I ask if you are in Berlin as well? maybe we visit the same fleamarkets 🙂

Leave a Reply

