Unusual Find

A fiery, glowing drip glaze on a dark foundation… …a shiny, round, substantial base that took up much of the back seat of our (admittedly toy-sized) car… …my first ever West-German pottery floor lamp! As vintage lamp lovers will be well aware of, finding bases with original, intact shades is not the easiest thing. German mid-century lampshades from the 60s and 70s especially often feature the granny-chic frill edging that my find has, but often they are not the same colour as the shade but rather a contrasting dark brown (what else?) I do find it quirky that such flamboyantly pop-modern lamps could have featured such conservative lampshade edging, but I guess manufacturers were trying to target all possible consumer age groups. Here’s hoping that I’ll unearth a few more vintage ceramic lamps in the future; nice ones seem to be few and far between around here. In the meantime, have a peek at some other funky examples. Did your weekend adventures entail any vintage treasures?

This entry was posted in Fleamarket, West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Unusual Find

  1. sevenstarsimages says:

    I see what you mean with the shade and I agree, yet a nice piece 🙂 I was very lucky this time, will post pictures in the BF pottery group soon

  2. Fat Cat says:

    Wow ! Amazing find !

  3. AuxPuces says:

    Gorgeous lamp base! I’ve found a Jasba lamp floor base recently which would look great with a lamp shade like your one. Any chance you could let me know the dimensions (circumference top and bottom and height) so I can get a bespoke one made? Many thanks! 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hi there Lavalotti! 🙂 How’re you gettin on?

    • lavalotti says:

      Hi there, the top diameter is 27 cm and the bottom 37 cm. Overall height is ca. 90 cm. Let me know how it turns out and how much it costs; I’d really like a replacement shade made for my lamp too as it’s a bit ratty looking in places!

  5. AuxPuces says:

    Hi Lavalotti! 🙂 How’re you gettin on?

Leave a Reply

