Mom’s Pottery Finds

The bad news? Yesterday’s fleamarket yielded nada on the pottery front. Oh sure, there was some, but none of it called out to me (and if the pottery isn’t hollering, I’m not buying. Or something similarly crazy.) The good news is that my mom has found some spectacular things in the past month, some of which I want to feature here today. I haven’t seen any of these lovelies in person yet and can’t wait to have a closer look when we visit Berlin later this summer. Yes. Amazing modernist tea set. If Jackson Pollock had felt like designing a teapot, this might have been the result. I have no idea who the manufacturer is, but it will take pride of place on our teak coffee table when I have my Rooibos in the evening. I believe my mom said that this was marked Bay Keramik. Not sure about the maker of this piece either, but that blue glaze is just wonderful. Last up is a very sculptural vase that I hope to take more pictures of in better light for you when I take it back to Kassel. Happy Monday!

This entry was posted in Fleamarket, West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mom’s Pottery Finds

  1. littleowlski says:

    Love the teapot and the blue vase – your mum has got good taste! I’m not sure what the blue one is. Something is saying Schlossberg about it to me, but I’m not sure. Emma

Leave a Reply

