Bathroom Renovation: Day One

This is the fabric wallpaper that was quietly hiding underneath the master bathroom’s current layer of white wallpaper. I think it’s adorable. If I ever sourced a vintage roll of wallpaper like this I’d be very tempted to cover a feature wall in it, perhaps not in a bathroom, but a bedroom, guest room… Come on, it’s a magical forest of flowering magic trees! Or something! It also goes with the turquoise tiles… If the bathroom had been in better overall shape (quite a few of the tiles were damaged, sink and shower structures were unbelievably grotty, the sink needed moving)  I would have retained the original period look in here with a few simple updates in floor tile. As far as design periods for bathroom decor go, I personally find the 1960s to have been joyfully experimental in terms of colour and pattern combinations. Sure, they fell out of favour for a few decades, but were the 80s any better?

photo: Arthur Bergman, picasaweb.google.com

Or the blandwagon that rolled into town in the 1990s?

source: uglyhousephotos.com

We can stamp our feet as much as we want, at some point what is considered fashionable today will look dated and, at worst, ugly, at some point in the future. I already dislike most of the bathroom designs that are fashionable now and had a hell of a time deciding on what I wanted our bathroom to look like.

via bathroom-ideas-design.net

It’s an ancient tomb! Oh wait, it’s a contemporary luxury bathroom. No thanks.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a dark tile (as you’ll soon see.) I just don’t want to feel like it’s closing in on me. I have decided to go with the simplest of colour schemes and tile shapes along with a very clean-lined sink, bathtub, and shower. My aim is Bauhaus-aesthetic-meets-2011 hoping that everything will gel with the style of the house and not annoy us with any busy colour schemes or patterns in the near future. We can try, right?

This entry was posted in Our House, Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bathroom Renovation: Day One

  1. Brismod says:

    I’ll be watching what you guys do. We’re just going to do a quickie paint job for our bathroom until we can do it properly. Laughed about the 80s and 90s bathroom. Everything dates doesn’t it?
    That turquoise tile looks kind of cute but if you’ve got cracked tiles and other issues, best to have a clean slate. xx

    • lavalotti says:

      From what I saw on your blog your bathroom looks MUCH better than ours did, in fact I would be tempted to wait for a few years before shelling out for a total redo. I swear I’m going to take a tiling course so I can re-tile our guest bathroom myself.

      Now that the tiles are slowly going up I am, of course, obsessing about them all over again. Such a pain!

  2. littleowlski says:

    It’s a shame that psychedelic forest couldn’t have been salvaged in some way, but there’s not a lot you could have done to save it. Bathroom is looking great so far – can’t wait to see the finished room! Emma

Leave a Reply

