Living Room Plans: Wood Burning Stove

It’s been a pretty underwhelming last couple of weeks at our place: both my husband and I have managed to catch the most tenacious colds laced with a smattering of bronchitis and have been feeling very sorry for ourselves. This sad state of affairs is enhancing my desire for comfy, cozy warmth…we’d like a wood burning stove, please! Don’t get me wrong, our central heating works fine, but you just can’t beat this:

image via My Scandinavian Retreat

…can you? I like the way the wood is stored in its own niche along the doorway too. A lot of our neighbours here have wood burning stoves already, and a chat with our chimney sweep confirmed that we could easily have one installed in our living room. Apparently they do a solid job of defraying regular gas heating costs, which is not something to be sniffed at in a country where your central heating is on for about half of the year.

hubpages

I suspect the smartest option for us would be to go for a multi-fuel burning stove instead of one restricted to wood.

hometone

I don’t know what the price tag for the above Shaker-inspired version is, but if we win the lottery, I know which one I’m ordering. Fast.

HGTV

The model above isn’t actually a wood burning stove at all but a retro-tastic Malm fireplace, but it must be included for its awesomeness. I have seen these all over design magazines and blogs lately, with mid-century homeowners rejoicing at the occasional (probably rare) reasonably priced vintage find. Who wouldn’t?

If any of you lovely readers have advice regarding wood burning stoves, please let me know in the comments.

This entry was posted in Our Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Living Room Plans: Wood Burning Stove

  1. Monica says:

    I especially love the last two selections. We have a fireplace and it is one of building expenditures that I am absolutely elated with. I only regret that we didn’t fork over the additional money to have it supplement our heating and hot water system. At the time we were just too overwhelmed with the whole building process and had an erratic fear that we would run out of money. I am sure that you can relate. My advice would be to go to a specialized store and buy the best you can afford. There has been an influx of cheap ovens (mostly, but not all, Baumarkt) in Germany with a lot of accidents/problems.

  2. lavalotti says:

    I can totally relate to fears of money running out where house projects are concerned. I didn’t even know you could have a fireplace supplement the hot water supply, but can imagine that setting that up would be pricey initially. I have heard horror stories about exploding ovens and fireplaces and such, so will steer clear of the budget Baumarkt models, yikes! Which company did you go with for your fireplace?

  3. littleowlski says:

    We’d love a wood-burning stove as well – waiting to move into our new house soon, so it should become a reality for us too! Loving reading about all of your plans; hope you’re both feeling better soon! Emma

  4. Joe says:

    Found your blog whilst looking at german pottery and have been following your house renovations. We too have just moved into our first family home a couple of weeks ago and would like to have a wood burning stove fitted. Love all the ones you have highlighted. Thanks!

    • lavalotti says:

      Hi Joe & welcome to the blog! Congrats on your new home-we’re still finding our feet but have so many plans of things we’d like to do to our little 1960s townhouse, I’m sure you can relate 🙂

  5. Joe says:

    Thank you. Our property is late 50’s early 60’s and we bought some of the original furniture from the seller, which was great but I now have a couple of chairs to re-upholster. Thinking of attempting it myself but the more ‘DIY youtube’ videos I watch the more I think I will be contacting a professional. Look forward to seeing how your arm chair looks. Thanks for a great blog!

    • lavalotti says:

      Oh, how cool to own some of the original furniture that belongs to the house! I have reupholstered very basic dining room chairs in the past where all that needs new fabric is the seat, but I wouldn’t attempt anything more complicated myself, at least not without taking a class first. The tools cost money too, of course. That said, having things reupholstered is expensive. I’m hoping that by shelling out for good fabric I won’t have to do it again within the next 10 years…

Leave a Reply

