Garden Progress, Borders and the Hunt for Patio Furniture

I apologise about the gardeny nature of recent posts, but we’re trying to make the most of any time off we have in order to get the garden in, well, order. Having basically zilch experience means we’re naive enough to cart 3 bags of mulch home in our tiny car to fix up the gross area under the rhododendrons I showed you in my last post thinking it was enough. Ha! No. But the results of my crawling around in spider terrain dragging bags of mulch behind me on hands and knees are worth it: At the very least, it makes things look a little more loved and maintained than before. My next project (I know you were waiting impatiently for this announcement) is to put some kind of rock border in place to prevent erosion of the soil around the plants and add some visual interest. As per usual, I’m having a hell of a time deciding what should go there. Planter stones such as this one are very popular in Germany at the moment and come in lots of colours and variations:

via bauhaus.at

One advantage is that you can, um, plant more stuff in them, arrange them in all kinds of cool ways, even build entire walls with them.

via klb-klimaleichtblock-de

via mos-gruene-welt.de

via steinperfer-betonwerke.de

The trouble is that I can’t decide whether I find their industrial look cool or too ubiquitous and reminiscent of public spaces. Like ALDI parking lots. We could do something like this, but I think it’s too twee and, frankly, I’m not sure I can be bothered digging holes in the ground in order to anchor them… I know. It’s our first home and no toil should be too burdensome to make it pretty, but I’m so damn lazy when it comes to such things. Results! Now! No effort! I think rude awakenings are in my future. I did switch out the grotesque mass of old flowers and weeds growing in the cement planter that all of the townhouses in our neighbourhood sport on their garbage hutches (a term I just coined) for some heather… So sad, right? And yes, the metal door desperately needs to be repainted, as does our fence. But here’s a bit of improvement…The next serious issue that must be tackled before it gets nice enough to drink caipirinhas on the patio is what kind of furniture to put out there. Our current set is tiny, partly mismatched, and about ready to be relegated to the balcony. I don’t want anything made of wood that requires coats of sealant to make it look decent and I don’t want this furniture to cost more than all our living room furniture combined. It seems the combination of these factors make finding the perfect patio furniture about as likely as encountering a unicorn in the Habichtswald. We both know where this is going.

ikea.com

What do you think about the ENHOLMEN? It’s made of rust-resistant aluminium and kind of works with the look of the house and our other stuff.

This entry was posted in Our House, Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Garden Progress, Borders and the Hunt for Patio Furniture

  1. Jan says:

    Ja das kenne ich, wir röddeln hier auch im Garten rum und haben immer noch keine richtige Abschlusskante gefunden… euch wünsche ich jedoch noch viel Erfolg beim suchen und finden der neuen Steine 😉 Liebe Grüße

    • lavalotti says:

      Hi Jan, was ist denn Deine Meinung was diese komischen Pflanzsteine betrifft? Sind die super hässlich oder schon wieder irgendwie cool? Am liebsten hätte ich große, unebene Natursteine, aber die Preise sind echt heftig.

  2. Joe says:

    We are also looking for garden furniture and it is so expensive. Keeping an eye out for something second hand but a freak bout of sun here has mean’t that everyone’s going crazy for it on e-bay.
    Hoping that ikea might hold the key.

    I really like the metal table. It’s hard to find affordable contemporary garden stuff.

    I am also a total novice gardner having lived in a top floor attic flat prior to this. My lovely elderly neighbour has to keep advising me what to cut down and what to keep.
    Good luck!

  3. Aoife's Steffen says:

    http://www.thonet.de/index.php?option=com_products&did=158&kat=136&lang=de&suchsec=131&task=details

    Ich weiß, ich weiß, nicht gerade im Budget. Aber gucken ist erlaubt 😉

  4. Joe says:

    Aha I didn’t realise that the table you had shown was from ikea!
    Just had a lookie and there is some great options at affordable prices.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

