Patio Furniture Update

First of all, Happy Easter! This was the extent of my spring decorating this season… Yeah, let’s not dwell. I’m no Martha. We did finally settle on patio furniture though, and even dragged ourselves out to get it during the long Easter weekend. After many price comparisons and multiple visits to multiple stores, we surmised that IKEA has the best value for money outdoor furniture by a long shot. Their current range features several handsome tables and chairs, but unfortunately many were simply too massive for our small patio. The ENHOLMEN I pictured in my last post ended up having a slightly underwhelming tabletop finish in real life. My second favourite, the FALSTER , looked great to me in person (easy to clean and maintain, no oiling) but didn’t appeal to my hubby at all (it was the faux wood finish he objected to), and was also too monstrous for our outdoor space. In the end, we chose an acacia wood table with drop leaf sides to allow for extension, the NORDANÖ. It seats 6-8 people and doesn’t overwhelm our little terrace. Here it is extended: I was adamant about finding truly comfortable, stackable, non-wooden chairs, and found exactly what I was looking for in the VÄSMAN. These are sublimely comfy. They also have a bit of a retro feel and go well with the house. A lot of little things still need to be sorted out to make everything look truly good out here, but things are slowly coming together. I wish more outdoor furniture on offer was as functional as this table and these chairs promise to be; there was really very little choice in that respect. In other news, On Life and Lava was one of the blogs nominated for a Versatile Blogger award by the always fantastic, West-German-pottery-and-all-things-vintage haven Little Owl Ski. Many thanks!

This entry was posted in Our House and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Patio Furniture Update

  1. littleowlski says:

    You’re too kind! Although, I may steal that tag line for my own website…! Emma x

  2. Corry says:

    I think your new furniture looks great. The chairs look very comfortable.
    I notice the beautifully pruned tree in the foreground getting its first new leaves! The first spring in your new house will bring lots of new discoveries in your garden. What fun.

Leave a Reply

