West-German Pottery Haul

Man, it has been a long time since I was rewarded with a significant fleamarket pottery haul, but the long weekend has afforded us with the opportunity to hit two markets and walk away with some lovely things. The BAY Keramik jug above was one of our first finds. It actually has a slightly glittery glaze quality, but my neanderthal camera is not able to pick up the finer details. Use your imagination: glitter. My obsession with brown pottery and/or 1970s fossil imprint decor continues apace!
Naturalistic reliefs like these were so big that more than one company got in on the act. The little white vase is by BAY Keramik, the brown vase on the right is Scheurich in Jura decor. After a good scrub, this 1950s Scheurich vase revealed a light mint green base glaze to go with the little modernist whatchamacallems in primary colours. I like how these 50s patterns seem both modern and quaint at the same time. As is so often the case, my 50s pieces look great grouped together with like pieces, but sit a little oddly next to the out-there 1970s pots. I spotted this fish among a bunch of garbage marked at 50 cents apiece. Initially, I assumed it was an ashtray, but the back has hook inserts that can be used for wall mounting. This little guy will start out as a catch-all bowl in the bathroom but will probably earn a little wall spot above the tiles soon. Can anyone identify the make? I was hoping it might be Schäffenacker, but I have a feeling it could be Scheurich. Whatever it is, it has a whiff of Bauhaus inspiration about it. This was the most substantial find of the weekend, so big it had to be hosed off in the garden to rid it of its dirt layers. It looks a bit like Ceramano’s Ankara pattern, but I’m not sure it really is Ceramano. Any ideas?

Let me apologize in advance for showing you what is quite probably the world’s ugliest lamp shade, but once you have bleached your brain of the image, try to see the potential of this West-German pottery lamp base… …more fossils! Clearly, I have a bit of a problem. But with a plain white lamp shade? Yes?

This entry was posted in West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to West-German Pottery Haul

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love the fossil imprint vases too.

  2. lavalotti says:

    Thanks, that makes me feel better! 🙂 They have such a cool 70s feel to them, a good thing in my opinion even though I was born in the 70s and probably should have moved on from what was fashionable then…

  3. Stacy says:

    That lamp!
    I’m in the process of loading off all my German brights and sticking with the whites and browns as well.

    • lavalotti says:

      The whites and browns are certainly easier to integrate into any colour scheme going on at home; I keep most walls and big furniture items neutral because of all the rainbow pottery dotted all over 🙂

  4. Dany says:

    I need more Jura! Love love love the fishie!

  5. Nikki says:

    The lamp (base) is gorgeous! Love the fishy too – so cute.

  6. Joe says:

    Amazing haul, they are all stunning.

  7. Aidan says:

    Hello, great blog and some really nice pottery. The large green and black vase is definitely Carstens. The décor is not Ankara, but the glazes used are exactly the same as the Ankara, just in a different pattern. The patterns were used by applying was to the base glaze. You can see some Ankara decors here http://www.potsandpots.com/wgp-companies/carstens/carstens-glaze/ . Many thanks Aidan

Leave a Reply

