Weekend Pottery Haul

In the spirit of being a pottery braggard, I’m going to pretend that the following haul was chanced upon during only one fleamarket visit, conveniently leaving out the fact that half these pieces were found last weekend, but life and laziness prevented me from blogging about them in a timely manner. You have to admire my blogging commitment. I’ll also leave out that my pottery finding mojo seems to have packed its bags and moved on to my husband, who was already haggling about the price of this fantastic Dümler & Breiden vase in Domino decor before I had even rounded the corner of stalls devoted to old stinky shoes and airbrushed pictures of naked ladies hugging leopards. Doesn’t it look like its about to take flight with those little side wings? It does after a few glasses of wine, I can tell you. This piece I know nothing about except that it’s gorgeous and has rekindled my passion for black and white pottery. My husband unearthed this one too, from a cardboard box filled with junk that this was almost at the bottom of. How many beautiful pottery items get chipped due to such careless transport? At least the lack of care on the seller’s part always translates to low prices for the fleamarket goer. Spot the one millionth Scheurich vase! I am building up a pretty sizeable group of 1950s/60s Scheurichs with primary colour patterns and I feel much better for it. They play so nicely together!The oddest find of the last two weekends was this Dümler & Breiden caveman artefact, or candleholder, or plant holder, or ___insert whatever this thing is here_____. Should I suspend this thing from the ceiling and pop a tealight in it? Or would that be taking the train too far into crazy town? Whatever it is, I have a few D&B vases that match it, so at least it’s not alone.

This entry was posted in West German Ceramics (Fat Lava) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend Pottery Haul

  1. Mdvanii says:

    Exquisite pieces…i havesome by obviously the same makers, but don’t know exactly who made them. Love your taste, Perect. Ever in Switzerland, please visit! xx

    • lavalotti says:

      thank you so much, I’d love to meet up the next time we’re in your part of the world. Same goes for you if you’re ever in Kassel–currently the Documenta is on, it’s well worth a visit! 🙂

  2. littleowlski says:

    Love the Domino D&B with its wings!

  3. Corry says:

    Maybe your caveman artefact would look good on your outdoor table with a great big candle in it. The holes in the top look like a chimney. I love the elegant black and white piece.

Leave a Reply

